Three Days

Wow….where do I start?  I feel like I lived a lifetime in three days.  It started with 2 scans taking up my Thursday.  Fortunately my good friend Christie was able to take me to my appointments and wait patiently while I had scans done that took lots of time.  I started with my Brain MRI at Medical City.  However they were not as conscientious of their time so we spent more time there than we should have.  Once we were finally done we zipped over to the PET Scan where we encountered the most unruly site.  A waiting room full of children sleeping, playing and listening to music loudly.  It was the craziest thing either of us had seen in a public place.  We truly felt like we had stepped into their living room not the medical office.  Even the staff were apologetic for the site.  After my PET Scan was completed we went directly for lunch without stopping as I had been fasting all day for the PET scan, not the thing to do to this girl.  I was starving and had lots of stuff “shot” into me by this point, I NEEDED food.

No sleeping in for this girl on Friday, hit the morning running.  Up and going to greet John to head off to the doctor appointment and happy hour.  Looking forward to the last round of cocktails.  Knowing that results were coming from the previous day’s scans I was still full of hope that we we’re walking forward with a clear PET and maybe no change in the Brain Scan.  I was not quite prepared for what he had to tell us.  “Good news and Bad news”…good news is your brain is showing signs of improvement and it is still very early to see full results.  Bad news, the PET scan shows spots on the lung.  I felt like someone just punched me in the gut.  Are you kidding me?  What is up?  It just keeps moving.  Dr. Kerr then began to lay out a plan with cocktail changes and a plan to get into a clinical trial.  It’s all very complicated and I can’t even get my brain wrapped around it.  What I do know is that they were able to get me started with the new cocktail on Friday and I will continue weekly for now.  It was a long day with the doctor followed by a couple of hours receiving the new “Jenn’s Juice”.  I’m beginning to wonder how many versions of “Jenn’s Juice” there are?  I hope I find the right one soon.  In the midst of all of this, John and I were able to read the reports and feel very excited about the Brain Scan results words like “significant interval improvement in the appearance of the scan” were very encouraging.  John and I choose to celebrate what God has done and continues to do.  We recognize that we are not done walking this journey and we will continue to trust our heavenly Father and give him the praise for the milestones.  We continue to walk in His victory.

As if that were not enough for one girl, Saturday morning was one of love, devotion and support.  John and I woke early to meet 45 of my co-workers and their family that had been training to run/walk the Susan G. Komen 5 K for me.  It was such an honor to see them and spend some time with them before they hit the ground running.  Loved it!  I can never express all that my heart feels toward them.  What an honor to work with such an amazing group of people.  A HUGE thanks to Mark Lindsley for organizing the event and the training leading up to event.  He went above and beyond.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart to my Fellowship Technologies for your continued love, prayers and support.

I am truly blessed and today I rest….maybe tomorrow too! 😉

“Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.  Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you.  I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.”  —  Isaiah 41:10

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Three Days

  1. Marilyn

    Sweetheart,

    I will continue to pray and pray for you. Thanks be to God, for standing by you. Keep that smile..

    Love,

    Marilyn

  2. Kelly Morgan

    You are a true inspiration and I continue to pray for you everday my friend! I love you and hope to see you soon!!!! Missing you!

  3. WOW… I love your attitude as you walk through this season… You truly are an inspiration to any that cross your path… I could not be happier for John that God has brought you into his life or for you that God has brought John into yours… I will be following on here and praying with you guys all the way from Greater Ada’er…

    Blessings,

    Zac

  4. Patty Laramore

    Jenn, we’ll be going to the Western Wall, the holiest prayer site on planet earth, this evening to lift you before Him and to leave you and John’s private prayer in the Wall. You are loved as we send forth His blessings from Zion for you both! Love you…

  5. The will of God never takes you to where the Grace of God will not protect you.

    Praying for you
    Paul & Jean Waters
    First Baptist, Orlando, FL

  6. The will of God never takes you to where the Grace of God will not protect you.

    Paul & Jean Waters

  7. The will of God never takes you to where the Grace of God will not protect you.

    Paul & Jean Waters
    First Baptist, Orlando, FL

  8. Janulee Shirvis

    I am so so sorry for your loss. I have sent one of my teardrops up to the Lord asking Him to give you all peace as Jenn dances now with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

