Shedding Happens Again

FIRST….Let’s CELEBRATE the completion of 14 radiation treatments.  It has been another leg of the journey to endure and I praise God that He has carried me through with stamina and strength that I can not explain.  It is only by His grace that I have endured the past 2 weeks with any wits, strength and success.  I celebrate in the victory that it is finished.  It will be a couple of weeks before we do any testing or scanning so we continue to pray for complete healing.  They have prepared me to experience continued fatigue but have said the other side effects such as fogginess and weakness will begin to fade.  My prayer is to quickly wean off the steroids, they have been my worst side effect.  Although necessary and I know that I have to take them, not so good for this girl.  Oh well, you got to do what you gotta do.  I will be thrilled to kick them to the curb, I’m just sayin’.

One other side effect they prepared me for that came this past weekend in a big swoop was shedding.  All the hair has left my head.  No worries, I’m still holding out for my prayer of a red and curly return….here’s just a second chance to get my way.  I hope John might like red curly hair….what the heck, if you get a second chance at different hair, I’d like to special order.  We’ll see.  It was returning curly so we’re half way there.  On a serious note, I’ll take whatever I get.  The huge blessing in all of this is if you got to live in Texas in the summer and wear a wig, bald is the way to do it.  Texas is known for big hair but I certainly only need one layer through the summer.  Praise God for the small details.

It has been a great weekend.  My dear sweet friend, Nicole was here from San Diego.  She has taken great care of me.  And of course, had to screen John while she was here.  Don’t you worry, she made sure he was all that I said he was and so much more.  She has definitely given her seal of approval, not that I was worried.  We just laugh….poor guy, he must feel like I’m putting him through the ultimate screening committee.  I’m not too worried because I know that his friends love him just as much and I’m sure I have some screening to go through myself.  They’re probably much more discreet than our team.

“You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”  —  Psalm 16:11

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Shedding Happens Again

  1. Tiffany

    yes… we just cyber stalk 🙂

  2. Yes, Jenn…”our team” is not too discrete! So glad that y’all made the trip up there!

  3. Sue Scrivner

    Jennifer, I can’t wait to meet you. Have been praying for you. Want to have you for lunch when you are in Ada. So thankful that your treatment is over. Believing for the BEST! We serve a MIGHTY GOD.
    John is so special to us. Soo thankful that you have each other.
    Sue Scrivner

Leave a Reply

