Hanging with My “Bestie”

I’m back….sorry for the delay.  I’ve been hanging with my bestie, she and I have been doing whatever we want.  You know how it is when we girls get together, there’s no stopping us.  Well, maybe a little radiation.  We have had a sweet time together.  The past few weeks have been a great lesson in letting go of control, in so many ways.  It has been a great week.  We were able to sneak away long enough for her to meet John and spend some time with his family.  That was a sweet treat for this girl.  Although, a short visit we took what we could get, there’s never enough time.  For this season, treatments definitely dictate our time but God has more than provided.  We were back in time for a treatment on Monday.   We have made our daily trip for a zap zap.  I continue to pray with each treatment that God heals and I stand in His victory.  Those who are here and seeing me say that I am handling it remarkably well, I must take their word for it.  I continue to press through and trust God for strength and stamina.  I will admit there have been a couple “lazy” days this week but the doc warned me and said “just go with it”.  So, a nap is never turned downed if needed.  I will admit yesterday was the worst I have felt and even in that I was up but lazy around the house, couch potato would best describe the day.  Probably, not my best day but no worries I bounced back today.  No keeping this girl down.  I was able to pull together a good afternoon after a treatment and pamper my sweet friend for a belated birthday, including lunch, Sprinkles (only the best cupcakes) and a trip for a mani and pedi.  It was a sweet time to be able to treat her for the afternoon.  She has taken such good care of me this week, grocery shopping, meals and chauffeur.

In all honesty, I really am doing the best that can be expected with radiation.  I have had minimal side effects.  My biggest one has been fatigue and a little fogginess in the head.  I’m thinking the fogginess may just be my head. 🙂  Just kidding, the doc warned my “smarts” would go down and I think that’s what he meant.  No worries, he says they will return after treatments are completed.   Good thing it’s only 14!  So as of today I’m 12 down and 2 to go.  I will have my last treatment on Monday.  After that, they will do another scan in a couple of weeks to see if there is any change from the first one after radiation.  There may or may not be and that doesn’t mean success or not.  Dr. Munoz, radiation doctor, says this is a journey not a quick fix.  So, we take it one day at a time.  Symptoms are our best indicator and mine responded immediately to steroid medication which is a good indication.  He has felt from the beginning that we were definitely on the proactive side when we started radiation.  God is so good and His timing is perfect.  For now, I look forward to being done on Monday, the fog lifting out of my head and my “smarts” returning to normal.

On a more personal note, have I mentioned this love of my life?  John!  I could not ask for more and each and every day the Lord continues to bless me.  I can’t imagine being loved more, cared for more and downright pursued more by a man in all my life.  He continues to amaze me and daily I ask if I deserve this.  We watch in amazement as God continues to write our love story and marvel at the thought that we get to be the characters.  We laugh often thinking about the day when we realize it isn’t perfect. Ha, just kidding we’re smart enough to know that already but for those of you who think we’re living in the clouds, we are but we definitely have a our feet planted on the ground in reality too.  I promise.  If anything we know for sure is that we’ve been given a gift in each other and we’ve also been chosen to walk a journey that isn’t perfect.  I say to all of you who love us both and know where we’ve come from and where God is taking us, we walk trusting with all our hearts in the Father, both individually and together.  Neither of us will ever compromise our personal relationship with our heavenly Father.  That is why I believe we’ve both been given such a great and unimaginable love for one another.  God is able to do immeasurably more than we ever dream and John and I get to be living proof.  Hold on, because we’re taking off on the ride of our life….

“Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.”  —  Psalm 34:8

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”  —  Psalm 119:105

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Hanging with My “Bestie”

  1. Marilyn

    Hey Jen,

    Glad to hear that you are holding up well considering what they are puting your body through. You are in my thoughts and prayers daily.

    P. S. Does John have a single father, uncle you know someone more my age that might be as good looking and special as he is? 🙂

  2. karen

    Been missin’ the blogs. So glad youre doing well. and this blog was GREAT!! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!! Smiled and giggled through the whole thing. Cant wait to get out there and have some fun. See ya on the 20th!!! love ya friend.

  3. Patty Laramore

    And what a privilege for each of us who love you both so dearly to be appointed minor players in this magnificent love story of all love stories!!!! Pressing through in prayer on your behalf, Jenn. You can do this thing and God is glorified in every zip zap, lazy day, Jenn juice, mani/pedi, girl talk, romance talk experience He’s depositing in you! Know it will be hard to put your bestie on a plane, but it’s just for a short while cuz grander things are on the way!!!! Blessings, and take care of our John when you see him soon.

  4. Mom

    Jenn, you still have alot of smarts, so just keep listening to your body, heart and most importantly GOD! I really like Patty and can’t wait to meet her. Miss you but will see ya soon.

Leave a Reply

