He’s Alive and Active

“The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their cry.”  — Psalm 34:15

Wow…what a day!  I knew that it would be a long day when we set out this morning, one with great excitement and anticipation.  On the agenda, radiation, doctor appointment, lunch and ‘Jenn’s Cocktail’.  Not bad for a Friday.  I was able to handle all very well.  My counts were good and I returned to chemo treatment which was a very happy moment for me today.  Little did I know what would change my day the most was waiting for me in the infusion lab and could only be orchestrated by the Lord.

I was greeted by my nurse and welcomed back with a great smile and joy.  It was a sweet reunion.  As we settled in it was business as usual and catching up on all that had happened and such sweet encouragement.  I got started with my cocktails and we progressed with our usual ritual, including a sweet ‘Benedryl’ induced rest!  As we completed our time, Crystal, my nurse continued a conversation that she had opened in the beginning.  She was open about her faith and she shared very openly with me about God’s healing and His almighty power.  She was a sweet presence of the Lord.  As we continued to share, she was glowing with the presence of the Lord.  We had the most amazing conversation about her walk and what God has done in her life over the past 2 years.  How he had delivered her from such a deep place of depression and sent warriors to walk with her, pray with her and love her when she couldn’t even reach out.  He is all powerful.  As she continued to pour out with such excitement of all God has done we couldn’t help but smile and rejoice with her and love her.  It was so amazing to have this sweet moment with a sister in Christ.  And when you think it couldn’t get better…..oh wait, it’s coming!!!!!

Yep, you guessed it….LOVE!!!!  In the midst of deliverence, God sends a mate to walk with her, pray with her and fall in love with her when she wasn’t even looking!  Right there, she shares their love story of how her love had come here from Africa and they were introduced by someone in Bible study.  As he got to know her, committed to pray for her and God began to reveal to him that she was the one he was to marry.  She shared how she wasn’t even thinking about a mate, she was falling in love with the Lord and hungry for deliverance and growing in her walk with the Lord.  As this man pursued her, she began to pray for a heart to love him if this was God’s plan and she said it was as if the next day she awoke with a love for him that she knew had only come from the Lord.  And as they say the rest is HIStory.  They were engaged and married within the year.  To listen and watch her speak of her husband there is such a joy and love that shines on her face that you know that God has orchestrated their story.

I marveled as I listened and watched this sweet woman pour into my heart.  She ministered to me more today than she may ever know.  There’s was such a sweet connection because I know, I know exactly what she’s talking about.  It is real and alive, the Holy Spirit lives in us and wants to give us that abundant life.  There will always be troubles in this world, we live in a fallen, broken world.  BUT we have a hope and a future in a loving, gracious Heavenly Father that wants to give us His best.  He is a Father who wants to give good to his children and I am blown away time and time again as I see His realness in people’s lives.  We can have it!  He wants to give it to us.  We get to receive it.  What’s holding you back?  It’s yours.  Will you trust Him?  Let go and let Him show you great and unimaginable things, He will.  I promise!

“Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure, because you will not abandon me to the grave, nor will you let your Holy One see decay.  You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at you right hand.”  —  Psalm 16:9-11

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “He’s Alive and Active

  1. Just love God’s grace…

  2. Erville Orndorff

    What a wonderful story. Jenn, I am so uplifted each time I read your stories. What a Blessing! My prayers are with you every day.

  3. Patty Laramore

    UH HUH…oh, so sweet…and go figure…He sends such an “up close and personal” message as encouragement and confirmation to the very same gift He’s now given you and John. Overwhelmed! Glowing myself today for the unspoken privilege granted us within the last 24 hours! Rejoicing to share in the blessings…

  4. curry

    Rejoicing! sweetness to the very core.

Leave a Reply

