The Days are Catching Up

Day one of Radiation done, 14 to go.  I’m doing well.  I’m tired tonight and feel like everything is catching up.  It’s been a whirlwind week.  Overall, we’re doing well.

Today, I had an opportunity to catch up with Dr. Munoz, the radiation doctor.  He confirmed that this is the best course for timeliness.  He indicated that a clinical trial (experimental drugs) could take me 4 weeks to get into.  Dr, Munoz explained that my symptoms are not currently “clinical” symptoms, meaning that my symptoms were caused by the swelling not the actual tumors.  The medication has reduced these symptoms and indicate that we are moving in the right direction.  This is a good thing.  This means that we can be proactive with treatment instead of being reactive with the tumors possibly progressing.  I feel confident in this course over the next 3-4 weeks at which time we will follow-up with another scan to measure any changes.

There is discussion for putting me back on a chemo drug but Dr. Kerr, the oncologist, wants a PET scan done this week before deciding which drug.  In addition, they will do a spinal cord scan to determine if additional radiation is needed down my spine to prevent cancer spreading into my nervous system.

Please pray these test are clear and God would protect my body from any additional cancer spreading.  I trust that the Lord is sovereign.  I will rest in His truth and His promise.  He gives life and gives abundantly.  I walk boldly in His truth.

“Do not be afraid, for I am with you”  — Isaiah 43:5

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The Days are Catching Up

  1. Suzanne

    Love you Jenn. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of you:) XXOO

  2. Kelly Morgan

    I continue to pray everyday for you! Sounds like you are in great hands! Love you!

  3. Patty Laramore

    Praying for sweet rest to restore and prepare you for tomorrow. You TESTIFY loudly to God’s goodness with your obedience and faithfulness and are such an encouragement to all who are witnessing your courage. Adding my agreement that the cancer be arrested from any further invasion!!!

  4. karen

    Oh girl…praying so hard. Tell them to zap – zap – zap way all the cancer. You are such a strong fighter and youre doing a great job. In your words “God isnt going to waste this”
    counting down the day till May 20th!!! So excited to come. Thanks for all the updates.
    Love ya, Karen

  5. Joycie

    Shine, Jesus, Shine!

    Then Asa called to the Lord his God and said, “Lord, there is no one like you to help the powerless against the mighty. Help us, O Lord our God, for we rely on you….” 2 Chronicles 14:11

    Beautiful girl we’ll see you in 5 days.
    Love ya bunches!

    • Millie Rosa

      You dont know me but your mom does. I just want to say that you sound like a great person. My prayers are with you.

  6. Denise

    Attend Church @the Springs heard about you and your crisis. Note my husband went thu chemo and it brought him closer to God than ever. He is cancer free for 3 years so far. Keep on with the faith and if you get discouraged, remember all of those who love you and need you. I am praying for a quick recovery NOTHING is too difficult for God.

  7. Nancy Williams

    What a mighty God we serve.
    What a great joy it is to pray for you every morning and watch His Mighty Work in your life and in your spirit. He is spilling out of your life to all that know you and read your blog. Isn’t it just amazing He always had just the right word for each day.
    You are an amazing beloved daughter of God and I love you so much. Continued love and prayers. Nancy

Leave a Reply

