Not What I Planned

A whirlwind weekend, this was one that I had not planned for.  The biggest lesson I’ve learned on this journey, 2 biggest lessons, fact is stranger than fiction and go with the flow.

For those who know me, know that I have an adventurous side.  It wouldn’t surprise many that I had plans to take off this past Friday after my “Happy Hour” for a retreat to write.  It was all set up, a friend of a friend had offered the location, it was only a couple hours away.  Perfect, I made sure all was well after the treatment, rested, got on the road headed north for a weekend away to write.  I was so excited to get out of town, a sense of freedom that I’ve been missing for a while.

After some much needed drive time, that’s favorite time to disconnect and think.  I arrive in Oklahoma, greeted by John and shown to my retreat that  his friends had graciously offered.  It was a beautiful home with a detached apartment that had been opened for me to use, the kindness of strangers!  I was so excited, I thought this is perfect, I can’t wait to start writing.  But first, off to dinner, I was starving and John was quite the host.  I don’t think John was prepared for my after “Happy Hour” buzz that comes on Friday evenings but he was quite the trooper as we closed the restaurant with our visit.

After a great night’s sleep, I woke ready to write.  I started my morning refreshed and excited about the time that I had ahead of me to write and reflect on this whole journey.  As I was having my quiet time the phone rang.  Normally, I would not allow for an interruption but I noticed it was a friend who knew what I was doing for the weekend and would only call if it was urgent.  I answered the phone and received news that would turn my day upside down.

My doctor was calling me and when he couldn’t reach me, he called the person listed on my “next to contact” list.  Christie called with a message that I needed to call my doctor back right away.  This is a very uneasy feeling on a Saturday morning and 3 hours away from home.  I reached my doctor and he explains that he does not know any information of the cancer but the radiologist had called him Friday evening after reading the CT scan and there appears to be a blood clot near my lung.  He continued to explain that an advanced CT scan was needed immediately to know for sure and though there was no reason to panic, we needed to do the scan “today”.

Not at all what I expected.  Change of plans, phone calls to be made, shower, pack and no writing.  About an hour later ready to go and the ultimate act of kindness coming my way, John graciously offers to drive me back to Dallas.  So we set off, there are a whirlwind of thoughts in my head, trying not to panic, trying not to be angry that this has interrupted my plans for the weekend.  But most grateful that I had friends willing to interrupt their schedules to take care of me.

A few hours later we arrive at the ER at Medical City, oh by the way, this is the only place I can get this scan done on a Saturday.  Great….this shouldn’t take long at all.  My doctor had called ahead to let them know to expect me.  Friends arrived, one to stay with me and another to get John to the train station to head back to Oklahoma.  I’m sure he had better things to do with his time on Saturday but he was a trooper to spend it with me.

After a few more hours in the ER, I had my vitals checked multiple times and finally my CT scan done.  I think that was just to get their monies worth out of my visit.  I had 2 nurses, an EKG tech, an RN, a patient advocate, a radiologist and the doctor all visit me.  Rumor was, all was clear but I had to wait for the final word.  Finally, it came, NO CLOT, nothing, probably a blur on the original scan, all clear….as crazy as all this was we broke into laughter.  We were relieved that the news was so good but we had to laugh at all that had happened to get to that point.  I was supposed to be enjoying a weekend away, writing.  The doctor did order one last thing, “a second date with that guy who drove you from Oklahoma to the ER.”

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.”  —  Ecclesiastes 3:1

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Not What I Planned

  1. Nicole Knox

    Oh friend! I was so very excited for you this weekend, knowing that it was just what your heart needed. Even with everything unexpected that happened, it’s so amazing to see God continue to meet your needs in such extraordinary ways. Glad the news was good – and really, would a patented “Jenn” weekend adventure be complete without an unexpected curve ball? Love, hugs & prayers 🙂

  2. On the plus side, Iguess more stuff for you to write about. I always hear “It’s the journey, not the destination”. Glad everything is OK and hope John get’s a blessing for being so selfless. You are surrounded with love, so wear it like a slanket 🙂

  3. Kristie

    Perfect summary to a strange turn of events.

  4. 🙂 Agreed. What a relief and blessing the day ended with! And hey, you now have some additional ‘content’! 🙂 Much Love, Nelson

  5. Deanne

    Hey Jenn,
    Glad you are doing well! I have missed your blog and hearing of your news. Glad there was no blood clot! It’s good to be back in Ocala! If you make another visit let us know! Happy Easter! Love you!

Leave a Reply

