One Day at a Time

Taking it one day at a time, with a ‘chemo hangover’.  Last Friday was my second dose of carboplatin.  I get this every three weeks in addition to my weekly dose of Taxoll.  Not as bad as it could be, doesn’t mean there aren’t side effects.  Mostly, nausea for a couple days following.  This weekend was worst than the first.  The upside, I only have to go a total of 16 weeks which means only a couple more treatments of carboplatin.  I press on toward the goal…

So, what’s next?  At this point, I will have a CT scan in a couple weeks before my next treatment of Carboplatin.  This will be the end of a cycle before we start a new one.  What is a cycle, it’s how they measure the treatments, 1 Carboplatin with 3 Taxoll is a cycle.  This scan will measure the 2 spots on my lungs that were discovered back in February.  To measure now, gives us insight if they are cancer or if they are from the radiation.  Best to know now before we complete the chemo.  Staying ahead and well informed is the key to the battle.

“Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.  But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  —  Philippians 3:12-14

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “One Day at a Time

  1. Eileen Winters

    Dear Jen, I’ve heard such wonderful things about you from your cousin Melissa here in Florida. I know your struggle is a hard one but by all that I have read I think you are the girl to beat this. Keep the faith always and know you are being thought of as I write this note.

    In my prayers,
    Eileen Winters

Leave a Reply

