What’s at Your Core?

I spent the morning in a meeting that most employees hate, an all staff meeting. In our company it’s called, All Hands.  You know the kind, blah, blah, blah.  Not the case for our company, or for me at least.  I appreciate our leadership team that goes above and beyond to make it an experience that is creative, informative and downright fun/funny.  Let me give you a behind the scenes peek…we meet quarterly, everyone is required to be there, it’s an entire day set aside to meet as a whole team.  Each quarter the day has a theme, last quarter it was “School UR Face” we went back to school (old school, no technology, see the irony in that for a technology company).  We had a full day of school, complete with a classroom, teachers, a principal, a cafeteria and recess.  The only thing we didn’t have was the school nurse which was needed by the end of recess.  They go above and beyond to make our “All Hands” memorable and fun to learn.  The purpose behind the meeting is to give a quarterly update from each department.

Today, we went to the movies.  We entered on the “blue carpet” (company color). Each department repurposed a movie for their team.  Before I left, Accounting had gone old western on us, Marketing had a breakfast club, IT ops showed us “the computer guy” and Implementation Services was off to see the wizard.  It was great fun and we shared laughs through them all.  “A family that laughs together, stays together”, my thoughts at least.

Before we started all the fun, our CEO opened the morning sharing openly about where we are as a company and where we’re going in 2010.  I respect and appreciate the openness and transparency of our leadership.  It starts at the top.  As he shared, he invited each of us to share our thoughts and experiences.  It is definitely a culture of open dialogue.  It is woven into our culture intentionally.  One of the main things I took away from his time this morning was our core values, please don’t tell him it was only one he had many great things to say :).  We spent a great deal of time going over these.  They were presented in a new and fresh way, shortened from multiple statements to single words that we could remember.  Another great thing I love about our company, they’re not afraid to change something.  Single words are easier to remember and implement.

As he rolled out our 5 core values, he invited the staff to share and define what these terms meant to each of us.  As different people shared its amazing how many individual  definitions there were and yet they’re are all related and truly define the values.  We come from all walks of life and different backgrounds, education, churches and companies.  Yet, we’re all in this place together “for such a time as this”.  I’m so excited to be amongst such a great team and serve the local church with such amazing men and women of God.  Some days I think this is a glimpse of heaven, walking alongside brothers and sisters from all different places worshiping the Father for eternity.

As I left today, to go to “Happy Hour” for my weekly Jenn’s Juice, I could not stop thinking about the core values and how they not only speak of our company but what they say of us as individuals.  The company, the team, is only going to be as good as we are individually.  I have to start with me in order to contribute to the team.  So I sat down and reflected on these 5 words and what they mean in my life:

Worship – daily what I bring to the Father, it’s about my personal relationship with Him.  I bring Him my praise to reflect a grateful heart for all that He has done in my life.  I did not deserve salvation and He gave it because He loves me.  I will spend all my days being thankful for that single gift alone, it’s all I need, everything else is icing on the cake.  And trust me, He continues to bless me beyond measure.
Leadership – striving to be all God has created me to be.  Learning more to grow in intellect and in spirit.  God has given me knowledge and wisdom it is my responsibility to expand and grow through his word and other trusted leaders.  Give it back, I can’t just keep it tucked inside, I have to pour it out to receive more.  He will give the opportunities, I have to responsible in my response.
Service – putting others above myself.  Caring for others even when I don’t feel like it.  It is written often in scripture “one another”.  My desire is to live that out as God commands me to.
Innovation – speak up!  This is a hard one for me, ideas and thoughts flow often through my mind.  Fear keeps them there.  I’m very outspoken but often fearful of what others think.  That is not honoring to God, He gives me ideas and thoughts and I sometimes think they’re crazy.  Over the past year and a half the Lord has shown me so much that I don’t think they’re so crazy anymore.  I recognize He is God and He has a purpose and things to accomplish and maybe just maybe He’s chosen me to do it.  I have to be obedient to listen and act when He calls.
Authenticity – Lots of things come to mind with this one.  I think this has become a buzz word in society.  As a follower of Christ, this has to be the foundation of who I am.  It is the value that all other values will rise and fall on.  Without it people will question everything else.  To me, it is the core, being real in my relationship with the Father, taking the mask off with those around me, speaking truth in love and knowing that Christ has set me apart.  Some days it’s not easy to take the road less traveled, the straight and narrow way of Christ but He will honor and bless it beyond whatever this world offers.

I have not arrived by any means.  I work on these values in my own life daily, moment by moment.  Some days I blow it and some days I do well.  Just this week I had to apologize to 2 co-workers because I had a bad attitude, nothing in particular but my responses were not Christ like over mundane things that had nothing to do with the subject at hand.  We all have those days.  And those ladies loved me well through it and allowed me to be “raw” in the moment.  At the same time I expect they won’t let me get away with it next time because that’s what real love is, accountability to say “you can do better and we know you want to’.

Today was a great reminder to me of who we are as a company and what our priorities are but more importantly they challenged me as an individual to bring my best to the team, not just at Fellowship Technologies but to everyone I walk through this life with.

May I challenge you?  How would you define these 5 core values?  How would you apply them to be the best you tomorrow and all the days ahead?

core – the central, innermost, or most essential part of anything.

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God – this is your spiritual act of worship.  Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will.  For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you.  Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.”  —  Romans 12:1-5
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What’s at Your Core?

  1. Wow. That’s my comment. Wow.

Leave a Reply

