From the Chair

Well, here I sit, reclined in my chair chatting with a friend and listening to the slow hum of the IV machine next to me.  I’ve come to accept it as part of my life.  My heart is full as I reflect on the many friends who continue to take turns to sit with me.  As think about it, twice a week I come for treatment and never have I had to worry about a ride or company while I receive my treatment.  Someone has always been here, I am most comforted knowing that I am not on this journey alone.  God continues to bless me beyond measure and I celebrate all that He continues to provide through this season.

Here’s what a day at chemo looks like…….

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”  — Romans 12:2

“Look to the LORD and his strength;
seek his face always.

Remember the wonders he has done,

his miracles, and the judgments he pronounced,”  — Psalm 105:4-6

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “From the Chair

  1. Nicole Knox

    In the spirit of continuous improvement, we should start a running list of things that would spice up the chemo treatment room … here are my ideas so far:

    1. Complimentary pedis + massages

    2.Theme the treatment chairs! One visit you could have the Harley-Davidson chair, the next week Safari chair (with mosquito net) then the 1950s soda shop spot (comes with a jukebox)!

    3. Disco balls (they make everything better)

    4. Partner with Starbucks to design the chemo lounge – complete with ambient lighting, comfy chairs and a coffee bar atmosphere.

    5. Onsite personal shopping! You could preselect the labels you want to see and Coach would have 10 bags on hand for your to look at, then we’d start on shoes …

    How am I doing so far? 🙂

  2. Suzanne

    Jenn,
    You amaze me and bless me beyond words. My love for you grows and grows. Wish I was there to sit with you!
    Love and prayers to you,
    Suzanne

  3. Pam Young

    Hi Jenn,

    Just wanted to let you know that God has placed you on my heart for the last two days in a row. I have been praying for you and hope all is going well with your treatments. Your strength in the Lord humbles me, and I am in awe of your resolve in the face of cancer.

    Continue to find strength in Him, and trust Him for big things. Many times, I have asked over and over again for the things I thought I wanted, only to be told, “Wait, and see..” I promise you that God has something in store for you FAR better than you could dream of yourself!

    Be well! Love to you from our family!

    -Pam Young

  4. Mom

    Well, this does a mother’s heart good. I get to be with you through another treatment even from so far away. It seems as though you got the big area with the window this time. I agree with Nicole we could spice up those rooms. After the shoes, we could go for a private fashion show and then maybe we need to shop for the men so we could use a personal male fashion show. I don’t mean “Shop for the Man” I meant buy gifts for the men in our lives or you could do whatever. Good to see you looking well and I know today’s test will be okay. God is taking care of you so we don’t need to worry. Love You!

  5. Ruth Cherry

    Jenn: Like the smile on your pretty face as you sit in the chair with your laptop. Thank God for the MRI results. You had me worried again girl. NO MORE SURPRISES. Okay??? I disagree with your Mom. I think we should have “shop for a man.” You know pictures, bios, statements from his Mom, if alive, former wives if applicable etc. I guess that’s called Match.com. Love, Aunt Ruth

Leave a Reply

