PMS Still Happens

Before I expand on the title let me say that I had an awesome week.  My sweet sister, Pam, and her daughter, Amber, flew to Dallas for a Girls Weekend.  It was such a sweet time of rest and girl time, ie. shopping.  Loved it!!!  Still trying to talk Amber into a pair of cowboy boots but she’s too cool.  Pam and I on the other hand bought hook, line and sinker.  We can totally pull them off.  Now on to to a little 2-step around the dance floor.  With one look at my boots, my dance card will be filling up quickly. 😉

We had a great visit and they were also able to visit with family in Dallas.  My heart is full from their visit.  They were a huge help with some things that I needed done that only a sister can do for you. We spent one afternoon in treatment and I was glad that Amber was able to see that process and know that I’m o.k.  It isn’t all the drama we see on t.v.  Although we did have a little drama, we watched a chic flick while I got Jenn’s Juice.  Hey what can I say, that’s what happens when there are no boys!

Wednesday came and it was time to return them to their boys.  It was bittersweet, I was grateful for our time but wanted to keep them forever.  I’m a smart girl, I knew I could never win that one with Delton (husband and father).  So I graciously surrendered them to the plane that would return them home.  Of course we planned our next visit before they left, we are girls after all, we always have a plan.

Then it happens….PMS.  Yes, you can still have pms and cancer.  I will admit I have been in a cranky mood the past 2 days.  Some have been concerned about my “Cancer Sucks” comment on twitter.  Who knew so many were reading?  Let me explain, I decided that instead of being grumpy with others I would direct my “grumpiness” toward cancer.  I think they call that channeling, I call it survival at this point. 🙂  I truly am good.  I’ve learned that I have to be smarter than my feelings sometimes and sometimes there’s no other way to describe it.  Thank you to my friends who have shared many laughs over my “PMS” transparency.  It happens.  I’m still a woman, boobs or no boobs, hair or no hair, somethings never change.  (sorry men, you probably didn’t want to read that last line.)

“For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does.  The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world.  On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.  We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  — 2 Corinthians 10:3-5

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “PMS Still Happens

  1. Ruth Cherry

    Jenn: glad to hear Pam and Amber’s visit was such a good time. I need to see a picture of you in the cowboy boots. You sound strong and determined and you are entitled to PMS, no matter what, for all of you life. God gave us women that in order to keep the men in our lives in order.

    Love, Aunt Ruth

  2. So I’m serious. If there is something I can do for you at some point, I am so there. I know that you have pple closer to you than me, but, please know that should you find yourself in need, that you can ask over here. Ok? Ok.

    Glad you’re ok, even if pms-ey. I think I’m there myself. Maybe it’s the weather?

  3. Amy Holck

    Hey Jen-I don’t follow Twitter or much of anything beyond a few blogs. 🙂 But I just wanted to tell you that I think cancer sucks….big time…I hate it…I love that the Lord can do amazing things through all circumstances and that includes cancer…but I still think it sucks. I think we can feel that way and still be joyful in all circumstances because our joy is in the Lord, not the cancer or the outcomes. We can be grateful for trials and His provision and still hate cancer and AIDS and, and, and….

    I am praying for you. I am so grateful for the blessings the Lord has placed on you and pray He continues to encourage you, bless you and heal you. I pray He continues to give you the courage to be honest and real throughout your life.

  4. Count me in on the “cancer sucks” team…

Leave a Reply

