Look Mom, No Hair

I took a bold step for me over the past 2 days, no hair!  That’s right, I left the wig at home and opted to wear a scarf instead.  It has been awesome.  Co-workers and friends have been so supportive.  I even went out 2 nights in a row without the wig.  The best moment was this morning when my radiation tech came over to me while I waited my turn and said, “I didn’t realize that wasn’t your hair”.  My wig stands the test, it looks so real. 

I’m doing well, had a good check-up with Dr. Laidley (surgeon) this morning.  I asked about reconstructive surgery and she says it will be 4-6 months after radiation.  That did not thrill me at all.  I was hoping to start much sooner.  We’ll see, I’m praying that my skin heals quickly and we’re able to get that started sooner than later. 

I love being back at work, Fellowship Technologies, lovingly referred to as 6363.  I am truly blessed to work with a family.  It is place I look forward to going to every day.  They have been incredibly supportive and fun to be with.  My team and I have had the best time making fun of cancer.  Not to be mean but to truly understand it has no power in my life and therefore we don’t take ourselves too seriously.  Laughter is the best medicine and we have plenty for all.  I love working there.

Tomorrow completes week 2 of 12 for this course of chemo.  I continue to pray for healing and that this course of treatment will prevail.  God continues to show his mercy and grace with each twist and turn along this journey and I am grateful for that.  He is my Great Physician.

Approach this day with awareness of who is boss.  As you make plans for the day, remember that it is I who orchestrate the events of your life.  On days when things go smoothly, according to your plans, you may be unaware of My sovereign Presence.  On days when your plans are thwarted, be on the lookout for Me!  I may be something important in your life, something quite different from what you expected.  It is essential at such times to stay in communication with Me, accepting My way as better than yours.  Don’t try to figure out what is happening.  Simply trust Me and thank Me in advance for the good that will come out of it all.  I know the plans I have for you, and they are good.

Jesus Calling

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”  — Isaiah 55:9

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  — Jeremiah 29:11

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Look Mom, No Hair

  1. Christy Mac

    So good to read this tonight and sense your spirit … 🙂 Can’t wait to see you soon!
    Love, Christy

  2. maggie

    Woman, you totally rocked the scarf!

Leave a Reply

