Let’s Hear It for The Boys

This time in January will always hold a special place in my heart.  So I’m not surprised at what God has been showing me lately.  It’s funny how certain times we’re more aware of something than we are at other times.  For instance, lately I’ve been keenly aware of men.  (Not what you’re thinking)  I have been in many situations where I’ve had the opportunity to observe them interact with women.  Some specific instances have been while their wife, girlfriend, friend or sister is battling cancer.  Though, they may never utter a word in my presence, I can’t help but hear them.  They exude compassion and strength.  There’s something that communicates “I will do anything to protect her”.  They are in the battle.  At the same time they watch her with amazement as she exudes strength.  She is in the fight of her life and he wants nothing more than to protect her from the war that is raging against her. 

As I watch and observe I realize they are responding in their purest nature.  God has wired them to respond this way over women.  It’s to love her as Christ loves.  This isn’t something you can create, it is in pure essence,  love.  He is the protector, he was given that role and desire by our Creator.  It’s who he is and what he does.

Men, I watch in silence but I want to praise you publicly and say you have a tough role in this battle but you continue to be my heroes.  You love her and stand by her while everything in you is raging with anger against something you cannot fight against.  That can’t be easy.  Some days, Iam moved to tears as I watch men sit with her as she fights for her life.  Thank you.

To my girlfriends, be grateful for the men in our lives, no matter the relationship status and thank them for standing in the gap for us.  No matter what our battle may be; may we remember that God has created them with a natural desire to protect us.   I am amazed day after day at the compassion that men have for us as we fight this war raging against us.   

Love always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”  — 1 Corinthians 13:7

“Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong.  Do everything in love.”  — 1 Corinthians 16:13-14

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Let’s Hear It for The Boys

  1. Karen

    Beautiful!!!!

  2. Amanda

    Beautifully said, Jenn. Thanks for inspiring me today 🙂

  3. Diane

    My friend,
    You are so insightful and such a blessing to me in so many ways. Thank you so much for the reminder. All of your posts touch me in some way but this one really made me stop and think. I love you sistah. I continue to pray and know that God has His hands on you and covers you with His protection.

  4. Kristie

    Beautiful! Thank you for the reminder.

  5. Dawn

    wow…you made me weep Jenn. Thank you for the reminder.
    Love,
    Dawn

  6. Mom

    Wow, you made me think – aren’t we lucky to have Dad.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

