Round 1 Take 2

Today was another milestone, 1st round of new chemo.  It’s a little weird to go back, so much has happened and yet I sat there today feeling like it was just the beginning.  I have confidence that this chemo is going to help.  From all the research I’ve done for Triple Negative Breast Cancer, chemo is the most effective form of treatment.  With that said, I look forward with confidence that this war will be won.  My schedule is not my own and I have learned to give up control.  I know many of you can’t believe you just read those words from Jennifer Cunningham but it is true.  I am learning that control isn’t all its cracked up to be so I’m just going with the flow.  No worries I still give my opinion every now and then, ok maybe a little more often than that. 

As of today, the schedule will look like this, Radiation every day Mon – Fri.  Chemo after Radiation on Tues and Fri.  The reason for chemo twice is the dosage is being split into two to lessen the side effects while on Radiation.  I’m all for less side effects. 

The good news, my hair is growing back.  They say that this chemo will not cause hair loss.  The nausea is less with this chemo.  I’m all for this, it sucks that I had to sacrifice my hair but no worries it will all come back in due time.  I’m reminded time and time again of how blessed I am with great friends.  Monday night dinner gang came thru again with me at the hospital, Meghan sat and waited for me while I was in surgery and recovery.  Then Chad came over and watched me sleep all afternoon after surgery.  You guys are the best, thanks for taking care of me in my time of need. 

And tonight, the girls took me to dinner complete with a trip for ice cream.  It doesn’t get much better than this.  Oh yeah, maybe a little more of my great adventure from Saturday….stay tuned.  😉

“The Lord replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” –Exodus 33:14

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Round 1 Take 2

  1. Deanne

    Dear Jenn,
    I know you are taking it 5 minutes at a time at this point. I hope and pray each minute that you know how very much God loves you and cradles you during your greatest times of need. I pray that you can feel Him with each treatment, each bite of ice cream, while you nap, etc. Thank you for loving other’s so much that you share in such an incredible determined way. I admire the way that you allow the Lord to work within you. My life is richer because of you.
    Love,
    Deanne

  2. Karen

    We’ve been praying for you and Im so excited to hear about this new course of action. Lots of new drugs that ARE going to work and growing your hair back to!!! Its sounds great to me! Thanks for keeping us all updated. I check this site several times a day to see how youre doing. This has made may day reading this.
    Love ya friend,
    Karen

  3. Ruth Cherry

    Jenn: You seem to be in really good spirits. Hope this truly reflects your feelings. I am just devastated at this news. I know you are strong in body and in spirit and can beat this, but I don’t want you to have to fight this hard. I love you and am with you in thoughts and prayers. Aunt Ruth

  4. We continue to lift you up in prayer.

    “…for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

  5. Sorry, my whole post did not get published…

    Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified, do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever your go…

Leave a Reply

