I’m Back

Happy New Year!!!!! 

I’m so excited for 2010!  I hope everyone had an awesome holiday with loved ones.  My parents came to Dallas and we spent the holiday with great friends.  We had an awesome day with great food and lots of laughter.  I can always count on good times with the “Monday Night Dinner Gang”.  You guys keep me laughing long after the party ends.  I love you all and thank you for a great time with family and friends.

The last week has been full of chores and family time.  My parents stayed for the week to help me finish settling into my new apartment and then they graciously helped my friend move into her new apartment.  My parents have adopted a new daughter, our family continues to grow.  I love it. 

So here’s the latest and greatest on my health, I’m handling chemo and radiation well.  I’ve been on chemo for about 3 1/2 weeks and I’ve done 7 doses of radiation.  So far, so good.  I’m returning to work on Monday, woo hoo!!!!  I’m excited to get back to my 6363 family and my new position on the marketing team.  2010 holds lots of possibilities for me and I look forward to it with great anticipation.  I had an appointment this past Thursday with Dr. Kerr (oncologist).  There’s a little spot in the same area that the tumor was, so I showed it to him and he immediately said he wants it out of there.  That translated to an immediate appointment with Dr. Laidley.  Before I could go there we discussed his plan of action for treatments.  He has decided to start the new chemo sooner than later.  “Jenn’s Juice” has a new recipe, he wants to go ahead and get that started in January before radiation ends.  He indicated that since I’m doing well with the radiation he can start sooner.  Yay God, for giving me strength and stamina to endure the treatment.  I continue to pray that my fatigue is minimal and I can move forward sooner than later.  There’s still a lot to do but I continue to focus on the goal and persevere to the day that this is all behind me.  After leaving Dr. Kerr we headed to Dr. Laidley.  I’m sure her other patients in the waiting room wonder why I walk in and never have to wait.  It seems that I always go straight to the exam room.  Sometimes there are benefits to having a “unique” case, it’s kind of like having the “fast pass”.  She immediately did a sonogram and measured the spot.  It has “popped” up quickly as I was in Dr. Laidley’s office the day before I discovered it and she confirmed that it was not there a week ago.  Per the sonogram, it is small and has no blood supply but it does look like a solid mass.  So, what’s next?  A biopsy on Monday this will help determine if it’s cancer.  After that, she hasn’t discussed.  My guess is it will be an outpatient lumbectomy on Friday (her surgery day). 

I’m not overly concerned or worried.  God is my great physician.  I know that He has placed me with this group of doctors and I know that they are on top of my care.  The good news is the spot is in the area that is being radiated and I’ve been on chemo drugs for almost a month.  There is also a possibility that this spot could be scar tissue.  No matter what it is, our Father is not surprised and He has this under control.  So, I rest in His peace that I don’t have to worry.

I want to express my gratitude to each and everyone of you who have written and called to express your love and support.  I could not walk this path without you.  I am definitely reminded that although 2009 will be remembered as a year of heartbreak and a shocking diagnosis more importantly I will never forget the love and support from all of you.  I cannot think about the past year without remembering the goodness of the Lord;  2009 is a year that marks life change for me and I celebrate who I am today because of all that I’ve been through.

“Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.”  — Psalm 105:4

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I’m Back

  1. Christy Mac

    Happy New Year!
    So great to read about the holidays for you and your fam. You are definitely on my mind and in my prayers as I think and hope for the new year!
    Love, Christy

  2. Pam

    And, 2010 marks the year of healing! We are all looking forward to celebrating healing with you in the next few months! I am personally looking toward walking the Susan G Komen as the friend of a survivor!! Love you.

  3. Kristie

    Hey, I’ve missed talking to you – we’d love to have you over for dinner this week if you have free night. I’ll call you.

    Hope you had a good time with your parents. Thanks for the update on everything!

    love you!
    kristie

  4. Karen

    2010 is gonna be GREAT!!!! Cant wait to walk and wear pink with ya – – – and just for you Im gonna fly! LOL.
    God has great things in store for you.
    Love ya friend.
    Karen

  5. Tausha

    So glad you’re back! I’ve missed stalking you. 🙂 I’m also sad I missed your parents along with getting to see your for the holidays. Thanking God for you and your ministry to others through all “this”.

    Love you!
    Tausha

  6. Ruth Cherry

    Jenn: glad to hear from you again. Mom told me about the new spot. I am waiting to hear results. Please let me know. I’m thinking scar tissue. Keep me posted on your situation. I can come back out if you need me. I love you. Ruth

  7. Thankful for all the help from the Cunningham Fam this past week! Where would I be without y’all (other than a few dollars richer) 🙂
    Thanks for taking me in!
    Jenn, I continue to pray for the Lords grace and mercy toward you. I pray for healing and daily strength and peace for the journey.
    Much Love,
    Christie

Leave a Reply

