Darn my Luck

Today was a good dayof appointments, I started with the Physical Therapist followed up with Dr. Kerr, oncologist.  I did it, arm is over the head.  That means CT scan tomorrow.  Woo Hoo!!!!  I will have therapy for the next few days up to Christmas Eve.  Following that good news I went on to see Dr. Kerr.  We discussed the course of treatment going forward.  I will continue to take the medication daily while undergoing radiation.  Once that is completed, 5-6 weeks, I will begin 2 new medicines.  The next round of chemo will be combination of a weekly infusion and one every 3 weeks for 12 weeks.  After much disccussion of side effects and why this is the best course of action, we disccussed how I can manage my time over the next few months.  I plan to go back to work after the first of the year.  He believes that I will be able to work but that’s about it.  He suggest help with meals, errands and housekeeping.  I shared with him the outpour of help I’ve received and he was so encouraged.  He does warn that the fatigue will get worse as the treatment continues.  I pray that the Lord will give me strength to do what needs to be done.  I’m ready to get back to work and back to living.  The urgency is over.  Now is the season for response and not reaction. 

Before I left we had one more bit of information to go over, my genetic test results were in and they are negative.  NEGATIVE?  So then where did this come from?  Well he says, it’s kind of like a piano falling on your head.  We don’t have a source.  Darn my luck.  Are you kidding me?  I’m relieved and stunned at the same time.  But most of all continue to look forward to the day it’s all behind me.  The cancer is gone but the treatments continue to prevent it from spreading or growing somewhere else.  Our main concern is to keep it from growing on my chest wall, this is the doctor’s biggest concern.  He’s confident that this course of treatment is the best to insure my health. 

On another note, I’m packed or should I say, mostly packed to move on Sunday.  Two girlfriends spent their day packing my apartment.  For those of you who know me that was no easy task.   The movers come on Sunday and move me to the new apartment.  I’m excited to be able to get all settled in and maybe put the tree up before Christmas. 

” For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.”  — 2 Corinthians 4:6

“Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.  Praise the Lord.”  — Psalm 150:6

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Darn my Luck

  1. Hi Jennifer,
    It’s been a while since I wrote you. I want you to know that your Church Family @ the Springs are still praying for you.
    Also I want to wish you A Merry Christmas and A Very Happy New Year.

    Love You, Janie & Lynn

  2. Winnetta

    So glad you are getting better. Look forward to having you back at work! We miss you.

    Winnetta

  3. Karen

    Such a good blog. So happy to hear you have a plan of action and know whats ahead of you. Keep fighting. Love ya friend. Karen

  4. Joycie

    Jenn sweetie – you must be completely tuckered out by now……know you had some tremendous help getting you into your new larger apt home……..just wish we were closer in order to help you…..

    Yep, your Dad is correct when he said “to keep your chin up” cause it’s the only way to keep our eyes on the Lord…..looking on the face of our heavenly Father always brings a smile to our face and His.

    Love you bunches……hugs from the both of us.

  5. Ruth Cherry

    Glad to hear you are ready for the move. Take it slowly, don’t try to get everything together right away. Conserve your energy. The course of treatment sounds like a good plan.
    Take care of yourself and know that you are always in my thoughts and prayers. I love you. Aunt Ruth

  6. Melissa

    Jenn: It’s me, Aunt Ruth, writing from Melissa’s computer. Your blog is now five days old. You’re moved, Santa came to visit and you’re enjoying Mom and Dad, bring us all up to date. We miss your blog when you take too much time off.

    Seriously, we would like to know how you’re doing and how things are. We love you and wish you all the best as the new year begins. Love, Aunt Ruth

Leave a Reply

