Back from My Hiatus

I’m baaaack…

I won’t lie, it’s been a rough week.  This week marked 8 weeks since my diagnosis.  Wow, the time has flown and I feel like I’ve been on a roller coaster ride, one that I would like to get off right about now.  I had a big day at the doctors on Tuesday and by big I mean, meltdown.  Didn’t see that one coming but for the first time I went from I have cancer to what are you doing for me to keep it from coming back.  Not sure what flipped the switch in me but I suddenly felt overwhelmed that we didn’t have to react and now we need to be proactive.  I don’t want cancer to grow anywhere else.  The chemo pills prescribed didn’t seem proactive enough for me, somehow I wasn’t convinced in the moment of overwhelming emotions.  After a little research (thank you, Aunt Ruth) we discovered that this medication is proven successful and prescribed for patients with more advanced cancer than mine.  Once again, I’m reminded that I don’t have M.D behind my name and they do. 

So, here’s the plan for now, chemo pills twice daily, Monday thru Friday.   Radiation will begin as soon as I can get flexibility in my arm.  The doctor feels its nothing a week in physical therapy can’t fix.  So now I add another doctor to the mix.  How many doctors can a girl have?  So as quickly as I learned to be prepared for the unexpected, I’m now learning to be patient and take it one step at a time. 

I’m glad this week is behind me and rejoicing this weekend as I am reminded of God’s presence in ALL things.  I’ve had so many sweet moments with the Lord over the past 2 days . There are moments that I am disctracted with emotions and overwhelmed with my circumstances but it is well with my soul. 

“One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.  For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.” — Psalm 27:4-5

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.” –Ephesians 3:20

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Back from My Hiatus

  1. Christy McFarland

    So glad you’re “back” 🙂 … so wishing I could step in and take your place for a while and give you rest. Always thinking and praying for you!
    Love, Christy

  2. Nicole Knox

    I was so glad to see your update tonight, it helps me feel more connected and know how to pray. Thankful for your willingness to be honest and vulnerable in the midst of such difficult stuff – and to know that God has you in his grip. Love you, friend.

  3. Karen

    I am so glad to see you blog again. Im so very sorry for your hard week. Meltdowns are ok..a girl needs a good cry every now and then. Praying so very hard for you. I am so very encouraged by you. Keep fighting and while we are all praying.
    Love you friend.

  4. Stacy Amerson

    it is GREAT to have you back on the blog!! i can’t wait to see you on Wednesday when I bring dinner.

Leave a Reply

