Accessories

A great day:  rest, pre-packing organization and no pain meds.  Yes, that’s right packing.  I’m moving in a few weeks to a new apartment, in the same complex.  They are letting me move into a larger apartment for the same price.  (Yay, God!)  This will be most helpful as family and friends come and go to help care for me during treatments and such.  It’s a long road ahead of me and a little more square footage helps us all endure.  So, along mid-December I’ll be hosting a packing party, come one, come all.

Another great thing about today, is that I’m feeling more like myself.  I wasn’t quite prepared for the feelings of awkwardness to arise after my surgery.  There are a ton of emotions and feelings to deal with and I’m confident that Christ has given me a power to overcome all of them as his daughter.  The same power that raised His son from the grave is promised to live in each of us when we submit our lives to him and accept him as our Savior.  After a few days of rest and being inside, I was ready to accept my lot and get out into the real world.  I’m grateful that there are things and accessories that help us look “normal” even when nothing is.  As I shared with my momma today, one of these is not like the other but that’s o.k.  There will be constant adjustments over the next few months and years but as I am continually reminded that this is only temporary.  There will be victory in the end. 

Girlfriends, I’m reminded through all of this, love has many different faces and kinds of relationships.  I  have never felt as loved as I do through this.  I’ll be honest there are times I wonder if a man will ever love me because of the battle I fight but I know that I am loved and have experienced the best relationship from each of you.  It’s not easy to walk this road single but I could not ask for more than what I have experienced through friendship along the way (and this includes the men in my life as well).  The Lord is not surprised by the timing and I trust with all that is within me that He will use this to show us all great and unimaginable things if we’ll just hold on for the ride.

“I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith.  And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.  Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us”  –Ephesians 3:16-20

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Accessories

  1. Amanda Ortega

    Amen my BEAUTIFUL friend….thank you for such awesome scripture…praying tomorrow is a piece of cake for you, hope your thanksgiving was wonderful!! Miss you, and am coming to visit you soon!

Leave a Reply

