Home Alone

I got to stay home alone today, I felt like such a big girl.  You know the way you felt at as a kid when you were excited and nervous at the same time?  That was me today.  I was nervous that I wasn’t good enough to stay by myself but I did it.  It turns out I’m still a big girl. 

I was reminded today that no matter how old we get we’re never too old to learn something.  As I reflected on this season, the whole month, I thought about choices.  No matter how old we are or what our trials are we all have a choice.  As a Christ-follower, I have the power to have victory over any trial.  That doesn’t mean life won’t have trials or that I get to breeze right thru them.  But it does mean that with Christ I have the power to walk thru them with confidence that I will stand in victory on the other side. 

As I walk in this I’m learning to take time to reflect, rest when I need to and be attentive to the lessons to be learned.  There will always be a chance to get upset and respond with negativity, frustration and anger.  I still have those moments more often than I like to admit.  However, I’m gaining ground to walk in victory of responding with grace, mercy and a positive attitude.  I believe Christ is honored in our response and I choose to live like Christ and honor Him. 

I had some moments of reality today as I saw my scar and deal with the feelings (or lack of) around my incision.  I know that my body has undergone many changes and this is only the beginning.  Even as hard as it is to see this, I was reminded that this is only temporary.  My first response is sadness but I can’t stay there for long as I think about victory and there will come a day when all of this will be a mere memory.  I walk thru each day and try to remember that it is one day closer to the finish line.

“Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you, who walk in the light of your presence, O Lord.”  — Psalm 89:15

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Home Alone

  1. Angie

    Did you sneak out to go get some candy bars while you were home alone? 🙂

    • Jenn,
      I’m so proud of you and am thankful for how the Lord is continuing to show you His grace and giving you strength for this journey. I can’t imagine any of what you are going through, but am so thankful to know that you are clinging to Him in your sadness, frustration and weakness and that you are trusting Him to hold you close and to remind you of the victory that He has for you during this time and on the other side of it.

      Miss you.

      Love you much,

      Christie

      “…in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” ~Paul (Romans 8)

  2. Karen

    Candy bars…I like that idea. So glad youre getting your strength up slowly but surly. Im sorry youre having some new emotional adventures…but all I know to say is “hold her Jesus.” and I know He is.
    Love ya friend.
    Karen

  3. Ruth Cherry

    Jenn: I’m so glad to hear you sounding so upbeat. I know you have down days, but you are managing them. And nothing can keep your natural beauty from shining through. You are always in my heart and prayers. I love you. Aunt Ruth

  4. Joycie

    I love to hear your heart speaking…..you’re right we all have a choice on how we respond……will we choose to honor God in all that we go thru? Sweet girl, you are doing just that.

    Even before you saw the waters part at the Red Sea and before you set foot into the Jordon River you were praising the Lord and He was and is well pleased with you.

Leave a Reply

