Joy in the Midst…

It may be hard to believe that you can have great days in the hospital but I have.  I am up moving around and feeling great.  My doctor and nurses say I’m doing great and will continue to do great on my own so homeward bound tomorrow. 

I must say that I am a bit overwhelmed with the outpour of love and support that all have shown, my heart is overflowing with gratitude.  It has been a wonderful testimony to my family.  They have been truly blessed that everyone has taken such great care of their baby girl in their absence and even while they’re here.  I get to have them here for another week and we’re looking forward to some time at home (after we bust out of here). 

There’s still a little bit of care that’s needs to happen until I get to have the drains removed. (Don’t ask you might not really want to know.)  Let’s just say I have a couple tubes that stay post-op until the body heals (about 2 weeks) then once they are removed I’ll be back on track.  Chemo should resume in about 3-4 weeks, I’m giving the docs 3 weeks to keep me on schedule but then again we’ve established I don’t have the M.D behind my name so it may take 4.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned for sure in all of this is to go with the flow and be prepared for anything.  I learned a long time ago, be flexible and you won’t get bent out of shape.  This is as good a time as any to practice.  As I’ve talked with the nurses today I’m reminded again of how great my doctors are and I know that God has ordained my time with them.  So, I honestly sit back and walk in faith that all of this is happening just as it should be. 

My devotion from today is so perfect to express my thoughts.  As some of you may remember I’m reading thru “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young.  Here’s what today’s was:

A thankful attitude opens windows of heaven.  Spiritual blessings fall freely onto you through those openings into eternity.  Moreover, as you look up with a grateful heart, you get glimpses of Glory through those windows.  You cannot yet live in heaven, but you can experience foretastes of your ultimate home.  Such samples of heavenly fare revive your hope.  Thankfulness opens you up to these experiences, which then provide further reasons to be grateful.  Thus, your path becomes an upward spiral: ever increasing in gladness.

Thankfulness is not some sort of magic formula; it is the language of Love, which enable you to communicate intimately with Me.  A thankful mind-set does not entail a denial of reality with its plethora of problems.  Instead, it rejoices in Me, your Savior, in the midst of trials and tribulations.  I am your refuge and strength, an ever-present and well-proved help in trouble.

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.”  — Habakkuk 3:17-18

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.”  — Psalm 46:1

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Joy in the Midst…

  1. Becky

    You are amazing!

  2. It’s true. You are. I am also amazed how the Lord has provided through His Word and through “Jesus Calling” at such a time as this. It’s been timely on a daily basis! Love you and look forward to seeing you soon!

  3. Kristie

    That was so encouraging! thanks Jenn! You are such an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

