Major Curve Ball

Today did not go at all how I thought.  I went into my oncologist appointment expecting a sign off and orders for chemo this Friday as scheduled.  I knew the tumor had grown over the past 3-4 days but I just thought that was normal and we would proceed.  I guess that’s why I don’t have a medical degree and he does.  After a consult with his partner and an examine by Dr. Brooks (the partner) they want to go straight to surgery.  They called and consulted with my surgeon and I soon found myself in her office being examined and readied for surgery. 

Let me unpack why: first the tumor did shrink and respond to the chemo treatment.  However, as the chemo is less in my body the tumor began to grow again and grow rapidly. Both oncologists feel that it is risky to continue with chemo because they don’t feel that the chemo will stay ahead of the growth.  It shrinks but then it grows back just as fast.  For example, it’s estimated to have shrunk 2cm after treatment but it’s grown back those 2 cm this week. 

So Friday afternoon I will have a right modified radical mastectomy.  I’m still trying to wrap my brain around that.  My head is spinning a little bit as I sit and process what this means. 

I know God is not surprised by the timing.  I continue to trust Him through this.  He has given me strength and peace when nothing else makes sense.  His grace and mercy are new every morning and He give me abundant joy in the midst of trials.  He has given me family and friendships that go above and beyond.  I could not ask for more.

“Do not be anxious about anything but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  — Philippians 4:6-7

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Major Curve Ball

  1. Prayers are coming your way for you and your doctors.
    I’m glad that you and your parents get to have Thanksgiving together.
    So enjoy all the food that day.
    Please have someone to keep us posted.
    I just want to let you know I’m proud of you.
    I love you and you have a speedy recovery.

    Janie Niswonger

  2. Praying like mad! Thinking of you tons.

  3. Joycie

    Believe you are in the best of hands….praising the Lord for His loving care as you face this thing head on knowing you are not alone.

    We’re all praying for you. You are dearly loved.

  4. Dawn

    Jennifer, you are in my prayers everyday!

  5. Shareese Rowland

    Brad and I prayed last night for you when we heard. Praying for complete healing this side of heaven, for you to have peace that surpasses all understanding and to not be anxious, to have rest in Him, be comforted, not be lonely, for wisdom with the doctors, smooth surgery with no complications, safe travel for your family and for you to feel the mighty power of His presence every second of every day.

    Love you Jen, press on in Jesus name.
    Shareese

  6. Ruth Cherry

    My heart and prayers are with you darling. I know this is a blindside, but your doctors are on the ball and with your faith and their skill you will prevail. I am there with you in spirit and will be with you in person soon. Love, Aunt Ruth

  7. Deidre

    I think the peace that passes all understanding is such a huge miracle in this life. Feel it, breathe it, hang on to it with all your might for with that peace comes the very mighty presence of God himself. Who could ask for anything more… Love you and Randy, Clayton and I are on our knees for you!!!

  8. Wade

    Praying for you. Let us know if we can do anything. (Coffee, etc) 🙂

  9. Michelle Lawrence

    We are praying for you – Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint.
    Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I.
    Psalm 61:1-2

  10. Michelle Lawrence

    You are continually in our thoughts and we are praying for you – Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer;
    from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I. Psalm 61:1-2

  11. Tausha

    Love you friend! I’m praying, praying, praying. You are a true warrior & truly deserve those cool colors next year! Can’t wait to see you!

  12. curry

    PRAISING God with you that He is not surprised and has lavished His peace upon you. Continuing to encourage you that you are a GREAT encouragement to me. Thank you for sharing all of it. PRAYING> love you.

  13. ben

    We’ll be praying for you.

  14. beth coleman

    Jenn,

    Tom and I are praying for you. Your beauty speaks through every word you write. We are humbled by your faith.

    And may the God of Peace Himself sanctify you through and through – that is separate you from profane things, make you pure and wholly consecrated to God – and may your spirit and soul and body be preserved sound and complete and found blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Messiah. Faithful is He Who is calling you to Himself and utterly trustworthy, and He will also do it, that is, fulfill His call by hallowing and keeping you. 1 Thess. 5: 23,24

Leave a Reply

