A Day Without a Nap

Another milestone today, I made it through the day without a nap.  That is a huge feat.  Although it will be early to bed for sure.

I started my day after an unrestful night.  It seems I can handle nausea from chemo but my antibiotic is another game altogether.  I had an upset tummy all night and I did not get to sleep very well.  Hopefully this will soon pass.  I feel like such a big girl today, in addition to no nap, I took myself to the lab for my bloodwork and went to the grocery store by myself.   It’s funny how quickly I got spoiled with mom and Pam here. 

There was a special little surprise for me on the street today.  The Susan G. Komen 3-Day in Dallas started today and I live on the route.  It was so touching watching all the men and women walking to find a cure.  Of course you know my mind started working.  I have walked the 5K over the past few years and actually walked it the Saturday before I was diagnosed on Tuesday.  I think it would be awesome for all of us to walk it next year.  So let’s make plans now for a celebration next October.  I’d love for all of my friends far and near to join me in Dallas to walk to find a cure.  Oh I’m so excited at the thought I can hardly wait. 

Nicole has arrived for the weekend and we are planning the ultimate girl’s weekend.  We kicked it off tonight curled up on the couch with fuzzy socks and shepherd’s pie.  It’s a great start to the weekend.  Nicole says she brought her flip video camera so we can document our weekend and look forward to sharing some moments with you.  She’s figured out a way to add video to the blog, I’m scared.  🙂  We’re heading out tomorrow to look for the new ‘do (wig shopping).  We’ve agreed that we will have to capture a few moments to share with all of you so stay tuned.

“Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  –Psalm 37:4

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “A Day Without a Nap

  1. Erin

    I will totally walk it with you! I miss you friend!

  2. mcfchr

    I’ve thought the same thing about the 3-day … I’d love to walk it next year with you! What a great visual for you today! Have a wonderful weekend with Nicole!!! Love … Christy

  3. Karen

    A walking we WILL go next Oct. for sure….and I know Lins. will to. Have fun shopping…..totally cant wait to see this video!!! Love ya friend. Karen S.

  4. Janine

    Nicole at a wig store? That’s a scary thought! Have fun girls.

  5. Erville Orndorff

    Jenn, I have followed your journal each day. I am so amazed at your strength and faith. You are in my prayers many times a day. I firmly believe God is going to heal you. Love you Erville

  6. Becky

    Shepherd Pie, fuzzy socks, Wigs, and Nicole. Sounds like a great start to a weekend! 🙂 Those are a few of my favorite things! Have fun!

  7. Pam

    We are there! Next October the de Armas’ are headed to Dallas! Love ya!

  8. Ruth Cherry

    Jenn: love you as a blonde. Also liked the piecey one that was blondish/brown. You seemed like you were having a great time. And you can certainly wear a variety of styles. Have fun. Also email me the manufacturer/style # of the one you like and I’ll see what we can do. Love, Aunt Ruth

  9. Kelly Morgan

    We had a great time walking this year in the Atlanta 3-day and I would so love to join you next year in Dallas!! You were on my heart and mind as we walked this year! I love you my friend! It is such an inspiring event to be a part of!

  10. Winnetta

    Count me in on that walk. It’s time for this girl to get in shape too! Love ya!

  11. Lauri Rettinger

    I’ll walk it with you – I’m in!

  12. Diane

    Oh, if we are still in Dallas, I would so love to walk on the “Jenn Team”.

Leave a Reply

