Quarantine

Today was another milestone, 1st doctor visit after the treatment kick-off party.  Also, we had some outstanding results pending.  Well, the first battle of the war is victory.  Doc believes (and so do I) that the tumor has stopped growing and is retreating. (shrinking)  WOO HOO!!!  No exact measurements but I feel less pain and he says it appears smaller.  There are more battles to overcome (5 to be exact) to win the war.  That’s what I’m talking about!  I also had some results come back today regarding hormones, 2 negative and 1 still waiting.  Go figure.  That last hormone result will determine if I have to add another medication in addition to chemo.  In essence, it will mean a weekly visit to the hospital for a 30 minute infusion.  Really, how inconvenient would that be?  Needless to say, we’re praying that comes back negative.  So if all three are negative, I get Triple Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC), has it’s own diagnosis, but means that treatment stays the same.  At this point, I’m praying for staying the same.  No more changes please.  All in all, I consider today a huge win!

One little hiccup, I mentioned to the doc that I have a sore throat.  Well, don’t you know he didn’t take that lightly.  Great bedside manner, so attentive and he did what he does so well, placed orders.  Ordered the nurse to find a strep test kit.  “Oh”, she says.  “I don’t know if we have one here”.  He orders, sure enough she finds one.  So, now it is believed that I have strep.  And this afternoon, she calls me to tell me that he has ordered an antibiotic.  Just what I needed one more medicine to take.  Seriously, I’m running out of fingers and toes to count the number of meds I’m taking.  He promises its just for 7 days.

Apparantly, the chemo working so quickly means that the side effects kick in too.  So as we celebrate the victory in the battle, I also have the the other things immediately too.  Specifically, the lower white blood cell count.  It has in fact dropped and has raised my susceptibility to infection.  So, I will celebrate our win  in quarantine.  I promise to stay away from you with strep if you promise to stay away from me if you’re not feeling well.  Know that I love you and I miss you but I can’t fight germs and cancer at the same time.  So for now, cancer is my battle.  Thanks for your cooperation.

All in all, a great day.  My energy has returned, only one nap today.  He did say that this week will be the norm so I guess I’ll adjust accordingly.

“The Lord gives strength to his people; the Lord blesses his people with peace.”  –Psalm 29:11

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Quarantine

  1. I’m getting a mask to wear on the plane so I don’t bring in a bunch of germs! My small group might “bedazzle” it for me … 🙂

  2. Karen

    whoo hoo!!!! what a great God day. Feel better with the throat and take care of yourself.
    karen s.

  3. Lisa E

    Jen, That is wonderful news!!!!!!

  4. June Biehl

    Hang in there girl. You’re doing great!!

  5. Marty Hartman

    YEA GOD! Hey, what’s one more pill?

  6. Sounds like time to pop in some movies!

  7. curry

    I’m keeping up with your progress and posts. You’re doing great!!!! SO AWESOME and continuing to pray strength & healing over you. love you!

  8. Love you Jennifer!!!!!

  9. Chad

    You’re awesome Jen…

  10. Kristie

    I better not get strep! (just kidding..) sorta. not really 🙂

Leave a Reply

