Just Go with It

Today, I woke up feeling good and didn’t do anything I thought I would do.  Praise God, no nausea today.  I think I’ve made it, from what I’ve been told.  There’s not much to tell about today because I slept most of the day.  Not intentional but it’s what happens I guess.  I thought I was doing great because there was no sickness and I thought I’d return back to work and be all good.  Well, not so much, I was able to be awake for about 30 minute intervals and then I’d sleep for an hour or two.  This may sound great for some but it’s really weird when it’s kind of involuntary.  Finally, by lunchtime I just went with it.  I was frustrating myself trying to stay awake.  It was even so bad that I dozed off while my dear friend was sitting here with me tonight.  I did warn her…eyelids close without warning.  And sure enough, they did.   While we laughed, she was very understanding as she sat with me to await a visit from a dear pastor who was in town on business.  He called with an offer for dinner and while I knew I was in no shape to go out to eat we asked for the next best thing, God’s food…Chic-fil-A.  Yes folks, first meal off chemo sickness and the girl wants Chic-fil-A.  It was so good. 

That was my day, no excitement here.  What I learned today is that sometimes you just have to go with it.  So here I go again, the eyelids are falling and I must finish so I will keep it short tonight.  I love you all and I thank you so much for being here with me. 

“The Lord is gracious and righteous; our God is full of compassion.  The Lord protects the simplehearted; when I was in great need, he saved me.  Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the Lord has been good to you.”  — Psalm 116:5-7

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Just Go with It

  1. Mornin’ Jenn, I hope you rested well! I thought of you as I read this morning’s devo. Press on sista! P.S. If you had to 6363 today you should get a Red Cup on the way! 🙂

  2. mcfchr

    It was wonderful to hear your voice yesterday … so glad you had a sweet evening. Praying for renewal of strength and patience in weakness. 🙂

    CMac

  3. Tausha Esparza

    Thanks for the continued updates. I’m so glad you are continually surrounded by awesome people. Good to hear you’re getting lots of rest and were able to eat.
    Love you & praying for strength and focus for you.
    Tausha

  4. Hey Jenn, glad to hear you’re learning to just go with the flow. I’ve been thinking and praying for lots of cancer-fighting for you. Make sure you stay hydrated, lots of Gatorade to replace what you’re losing. Sounds like you got a Neulasta shot too, which is awesome. My aunt didn’t get those til the second time through chemo, which kept her out of the hospital. Am praying your white blood cell count stays above 1000. I’m sure they told you but days 5-10 after chemo my aunt calls D-days, for diaherrea. The chemo is killing all of your micro-villi and other lining in your stomach and intestinal track so all of that has to come out. Day 10-14 after chemo are your most vulnerable days for illness and for some reason you’re supposed to stay away from vegetables during that time. Also if you stay away from carbonation and citrus that will help prevent mouth sores, which tend to flare up after the second round of chemo. Lots of information flooding your brain and life right now. Am praying you retain what you need to know to make you feel better. 🙂

  5. beth coleman

    Jen, you are in my heart and prayers every day. I pray that you will feel all the love and support. You are precious.

  6. beth coleman

    Jen, I am praying for you daily. I hope you “feel” all the love and support. You are so precious.

Leave a Reply

