Good Day

First I want to thank my very good friend, Nicole who pitched in to write for me last night.  She has agreed to pitch hit for me on those days when I just can’t write.  Last night was the first.  As she mentioned I had a very bad evening after my cocktail hour(s).  It was a VERY long day and between exhaustion and drugs I had a bad evening.  My mom and Pam saved the day and took very good care of me.  There are lots of meds to take in a timely manner and it’s very hard to think clearly when you’re the patient.  I was able to get a great night’s sleep and felt the best rest I’ve had in about 2 weeks.

I had a very good day, it first started with a shot in the arm that I have to have following each treatment.  That wasn’t so great but it was very short lived.  Then the girls rallied and we all went to get haircuts.  We all got super cute short cuts.  It was sweet to watch each of them support me as I make adjustments to kick cancer in the butt.  The doctors have recommended that the hair loss is easier with a short hairstyle.  They predict I will begin to lose my hair in about 3 weeks.  Not what I’m looking forward to but it is what it is.  I’ll get a couple cute wigs and have variety.  Just think girls, all those mornings you’re standing in front of the mirror fussing with your hair, I just have to put mine on and walk out the door.  It’ll save me a lot of time.  More sleep and take less time to get ready in the mornings.  That’s what I’m talking about.

There will be rough days and I have just seen a glimpse but I know that God is carrying me on the days I can’t hold myself up and He holds my hand on the days that I can walk on my own.  He never leaves me.

I must admit that I missed writing to all of you yesterday, I felt saddened that I was not able and have thought of you many times today with an anxious heart to get back to you tonight.  I love you all and am so inspired and encouraged by your comments.  I read them continuously throughout the day and smile.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

‘I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, wether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do everything through him who gives me strength.’  –Philippians 4:23

My prayer – ‘ Lord, whatever my lot I will praise you.’

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Good Day

  1. Janine

    Your attitude is an inspiration. My husband has been reading too and feels inspired by your story as well. We continue to pray for you everyday and won’t cease until it is over with. Love you

  2. Nicole Knox

    Good to see you back in action! I imagine you with a cape, flying above the day to day in true superhero (ine) mode. I take heart in knowing that you are completely in God’s grip. Love, prayers and see you soon, Nicole 🙂

  3. Karen

    So proud of you and I love the new do!!! Keep fighting hard!!!! Me and soooo many more are fighting for you…we’re working on the front line of prayer!!!! 🙂 Love ya. Karen S.

  4. Terri Prout

    Dear Jennifer,
    The spirit of God is with you. I can feel Him in your words, and know your prayers are an inspiration for anyone who is experiancing the same challenge.
    I hope this day will be easier and that the you will find calm in your surroundings. Sometimes the simplest things can give us comfort. A warm cup of tea and honey, a gentle breeze, a piece of jelly toast, music that touches the heart or maybe something that makes your toes wiggle and tap.
    Whatever it is I hope it finds it’s way to your door.
    Terri (Nicole’s Mom)

  5. Sarah

    Good thing you have a pretty shaped head!! You may want to go with out a wig. I love you
    Sarah

  6. Elizabeth Ellis

    Jennifer,

    I am praying for you! You have a wonderful attitude and your words are an encouragement and inspiration to us all. Hang in there and know that so many are praying for you!

    Elizabeth Ellis

Leave a Reply

