The Night Before

It is the night before I start chemo.  I sit with mixed emotions.  I’m anxious, nervous and a little scared.  Not of the treatment but of what could happen.  I know without a doubt this is where I’m supposed to be for this season.  God has provided in abundance for this season.

God has shown himself to me in many ways.  I never knew all the people I would come in touch with over the past couple years that would play such an important role in the next season.  Friends of friends that have just the resources I need.  Every thing from the Susan G. Komen Foundation to dieticians for the Cancer Center.  Lord, you are so good to me, I will praise you with all that is within me.  Yes, He has me in Dallas for “such a time as this”

We don’t know what to expect over the next few days.  If I am unable to write, don’t worry, I have enlisted a ghost writer to keep you well informed.  She is quite talented so I must be careful that she doesn’t take over my job here.

Well, as I close I want to leave you with something that was sitting in my doctor’s office this afternoon:

What Cancer Cannot Do

Cancer is so limited ~~

It cannot cripple love.

It cannot shatter hope.

It cannot corrode faith.

It cannot destroy peace.

It cannot kill friendship.

It cannot suppress memories.

It cannot silence courage.

It cannot invade the soul.

It cannot steal eternal life.

It cannot conquer the spirit.

‘ For we are God’s workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.’  – Ephesians 2:10

‘Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagin, according to his power that is at work within us.’  – Ephesians 3:20

(For those who have asked about the verses, these have been directly from my quiet time along the journey.  Without a doubt God is speaking.)

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “The Night Before

  1. Jenn,
    I’m thinking about you this morning and will be praying for you often. I’ll call Pam later and check in. Hugs all around.
    Nelson

  2. Jody Curran

    Hang in there – a lot of folks praying and trusting God along with you for healing.
    Lord, be with Jennifer and give her your peace and comfort. Assure her of your presence and provide a peace that passes all understanding. We ask in Jesus’ name and for his sake…

  3. Diane

    Everytime I read one of your blogs, I am just reminded of how amazing you are. You are truly an inspiration my friend. Know that we are praying for you and that we love you very much. KayKay calls you “Mommy’s friend with the big smile and the red cheeks”. 🙂 I look forward to seeing that “big smile” soon my friend.
    Love ya,
    Di

  4. Shareese Rowland

    Jen,
    Praying for minimum side effects, strength, courage, endurance, attitude of Christ, encouragement, love, hope, rest and complete healing. for you not to be anxious and to have His supernatural presence comfort you like never before in your life.

    Blessings sweetie,
    Shareese

  5. curry

    You are so brave. I am so blessed by your courage. Thank you. NONE of this is lost, Jenn. None of it!!! Praying. Standing with you. –curry

  6. Kelly Morgan

    I am blessed by every word you write. You are a brave and faithful women and if anyone can beat cancer it is you. I love you and am praying for you! I know you are not alone but know that you have one more friend out here if you need anything at all! – Kelly

  7. Karen Permenter

    Jennifer,
    Just heard your news (we’ve moved from Ocala) and caught up with the blog. Praying for you daily!!!

    Karen

  8. mcfchr

    Thinking of you tonight and praying for the next day(s) as your body reacts to the chemo. Praying for sweet rest …

  9. Winnetta

    Jennifer,

    I want to share another verse that brought my Dad great comfort in his battle with cancer: Isaiah 54:17a “No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper.”

    I hope this verse helps you as much as it did my dad!

    Love ya girl!

Leave a Reply

