Big Day

I sit here tonight reflecting on the day and the past week.  It was just a week ago that I received the news, “you have breast cancer”.  I am amazed by all of you.  You have blown me away with your outpouring care and gifts.  I would not want to face this without you, I truly have the best friends and family near and far.

Tonight is going to be short and sweet as I am having trouble keeping my eyes open.  Although you come out of anesthesia, it’s effects linger for the duration of the day.  It’s been a great excuse to nap all day.  Today started very early but of course I overslept a bit.  What can I say, I love my sleep.  We had a little adventure trying to find the surgery center.  Note to self, as the patient don’t rely on yourself to know the details.  Once we finally got to the right building we were good to go.  I realize that they don’t call it Medical City for nothing, it really is a little city complete with Starbucks (just like a real city, 1 on every corner).

I don’t remember anything other than getting my medicine and then waking up in recovery.  My doctor and all the nurses were wonderful to me.  There were a few ‘tricks’ they made me do before they’d let me leave the hospital.  I came home and took the first of a few naps.  The best news of the day was the phone call I received asking me to come in early for my PET scan.   This was the best part of my day, I went in received a little shot of ‘radioactive sugar water’ and then they put me in a dark, warm room with a big brown leather recliner, warm blankets and a personal t.v with remote.  I had arrived!  I was left to sleep for the next hour.  After my nap I was taken to the ‘tube’ where I was for 21 minutes while this large donut scanned my body from my head to toe.  Once that was complete, I was spoiled by mom and Pam with cheese fries and burgers followed up with Sprinkles cupcakes to go. 

After we returned home it has been snooze central around here.  Today was a big day and we have crashed tonight.  Tomorrow has its own adventure awaiting, appointment with the oncologist.  I feel kinda like I’m getting ready for a first date.  He knows a lot more about me than I do about him.  Our friend, Dr. Laidley thinks we’ll be a perfect match.  Shoot, what have I got to loose, he’s a take charge kinda guy and will design a special cocktail just for me.  I’m calling it Jenn’s Juice.  We’ve been told that most likely he will order chemo to start Friday.  So what do you know, I might have a date on Friday after all, wasn’t what I was expecting but at this point it’s one that has the greatest chance of lasting a lifetime.

Time to sign off as my eyelids are falling down.

“I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God.  For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness”  – Isaiah 61:10

“And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.”  –  Romans 5:5

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Big Day

  1. Jennifer,
    I praise God for the peace of mind that you have. You are so strong and we keep praying that you will win this Battle.
    I want you to remember that your Guardian Angels are with you always.
    I love You Jennifer

    Janie Niswonger

  2. Karen

    Glad it all went well. You are doing awesome!!! You are really amazing and have such a testimony. I look foward to your blogs everyday. I start my mornings out reading them then have my prayer time…that way I know whats going on and how to pray for you that day.
    Love you friend.
    Karen S.

  3. mcfchr

    Jenn,
    Thank you for your faithfulness to update us on your days … I’m thankful for the technology that allows us to be “near” you, even when we are not physically.
    Love, Christy

  4. Chad

    Your attitude is amazing. God is using you for good through all of this, I know you know that…

Leave a Reply

