Cost of Cancer

I’ve had my first battle with anger today, not about what you probably think.  First battle of anger, try not being angry at the first woman who calls on the phone to tell you they need $1347.oo for your surgery that is less than 24 hours away, or the second woman who calls.   Both asking ‘will you be able to pay at the time of services’.  Cancer is expensive however, I didn’t think I would be hit so quickly with numbers and dollar signs.  Reality sets in, cancer has a cost  and no matter how much you think you’re prepared it’s a shock when you find out how much.  Thankfully, my Father owns the cattle on a thousand hills so I will not worry.  He already has my trust fund in place and has paid every debt.  I will be responsible with the resources He has given me and know that He will provide.  His word tells me ‘Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.’  – Matt. 6:34  That’s the promise I stand on today.

I am busting at the seams to continue this post.  You see, I wrote the first paragraph around 3:30 this afternoon after receiving 2 phones about the surgery and PET scan happening tomorrow.  They both bombarded me with costs and what my 20% would be.  Both want full payment at time of service.  Excuse me people, did you miss the part about I’m trying to kick cancer in the butt and you want money before you’ll provide services?  So I immediately began writing and our Father comforted my soul with His word.  I have learned the value of  hiding His word in my heart because in moments like these, He tugs on your heart and what’s on the inside spills out.

A co-worker immediately noticed my emotion, when I shared what had happened she felt my pain.  I dried my damp cheeks, picked myself up and knew that these 2 phone calls had not surprised my Father and he gave me the exact words to write in the beginning of today’s post.  He knew what He was about to do and knew that we all needed a reminder of who’s in control (even the financial costs).

I left work around 4 today, tired and ready to get home to begin the process of getting finances in line to see what I could do in the next few hours.  But God already had it done, remember when he said, “It is finished”?  Well, it is.  I left my phone unaccessible on the drive home and listened to the music and made my way through the traffic.  During my “unwind” trip home, I was driving my co-worker a little crazy by not answering her multiple phone calls.  Because she was watching God use her to bless my socks off.  And I mean it.  I could never have imagined what she was about to tell me and I was speechless….really, I know some of you are having a hard time believing that one but its true, speechless!

You see, when she heard of my need she emailed a group of her friends and within minutes the responses were flooding in.  By the time she and I spoke she had all but $350 ready to give.  I hope you’re smiling and celebrating too.  But don’t stop there because God’s not done yet, a friend has volunteered to start a fund in my name, and wait there’s still more….I just received a text, we’re up to $1670 and she says it’s still coming in.  I’m so blown away and excited that I want to shout from the rooftops.  My only problem, I truly cannot find adequate words to  give enough praise to the Father.  He is worthy of so much more than my mere words, I stand in awe!!!  He IS my ALL in ALL!!! 

Folks, WE have a Big God.  To my friend Amanda, I can never express my gratitude to your faithful response when the Lord called you into action.  This really is our battle and I truly feel the power of our army.  Our Father, is the Commander in Chief and I’m honored to serve along side each and every one of you. 

I just have one thing to say to cancer – THIS MEANS WAR!

‘Those who are with us are more than those who are with them’  – 2 Kings 6:16

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Cost of Cancer

  1. WOW! So amazing! What a wonderful testimony of God’s love and provision.

  2. Sandi

    This is truly amazing!!!

  3. Hallelujah! I can’t imagine the testimony of His faithfulness that today has been!!! You are in Great Hands and so well cared for and provided for! The war is on the the victory is ahead! Hang in there friend and remember when you’re too tired to fight, we’ll hold up your arms and the battle will move forward! Abrazos!

  4. curry

    THank you, Father – More, MORE, MORE!!!

  5. “I will go before you and will level the mountains; I will break down gates of bronze and cut through bars of iron. I will give you the treasures of darkness, riches stored in secret places, so that you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, who summons you by name.”
    {Isaiah 45:2, 3}

    Praying continuously in Memphis, Tennessee!!

  6. Diane

    AMAZING…what a blessing!!! I can’t wait to see/hear what else God has taken care of.
    And yes you were right…I can’t believe you were speechless 🙂
    Love you.
    Di

  7. I am in tears Jenn. Really. It reminded me of when I wanted to help my cousin and everyone chipped in to help pay for her trip to the US to visit Disneyland. And later so many more helped when I decided to take a leave of absence to spend time with her and minister to her family. Having been the recepient of such generosity I know how it feels. I thank God for the people He placed in your life to support you at this time. He is good.

  8. Tausha Esparza

    PRAISE GOD ALMIGHTY! I too am speechless and tearing up at the unlimited wonders of our God. It shouldn’t be a surprise to any of us yet we are continually surprised at his undying love for us.
    Amanda – thank you for loving on our friend! You are amazing. Can you post how everyone can contribute to the fund?
    God is Awesome!
    Love,
    Tausha

  9. Monica Vielma

    Hi Jennifer,

    Reading your blogs just reminds me of how REAL God is. I sometimes tend to stray away but you have me in tears as I see how he’s working in your favor and it makes me wonder how can I doubt him at times. Girl you are such a strong woman and I admire that about you. Take care and you will be in my prayers.

  10. Amanda Ortega

    Thank you everyone for your sweet words! Happy to be a vessel of HIM. We do not have the fund setup yet, but will post it as soon as it gets setup.

    Current total, from my friends as well as a few from the Fellowship Technologies family…drum roll as Jenn says:

    $2025 raised for Jennifer Cunningham!!!!! Ephesians 3:20-21

    “Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever!”

  11. Sandy Stephens

    So thrilled for His amazing provision for you…know that your mind is eased and you can now focus on the important stuff…God bless you…

  12. God is so good…all the time!!!! Rest in His comforting arms my friend!

Leave a Reply

