A day changes your life

Less than 24 hours ago the conversation with my girlfriends was about the latest boy and the most recent date.  Today the conversation took a drastic turn when the doctor said it’s cancer.  Cancer?!?!  How can that be?  The lump only appeared a month ago.  How does it happen that fast?  Really?  Now what?  How long do I have to process this?  “Well, we’ve scheduled you an appointment with the breast surgeon tomorrow”.  And so I immediately enlisted my girlfriends to pray.  It has amazed me how our conversations have changed, itineraries were dismissed and our lives have been interrupted.  Conversations about boys have now turned to boobs.  To keep or not to keep?  Not really a question I’m pondering because I am confident that my identity is not in them.  I’m still me with or without them.

How do I feel?  Physically – the same I did yesterday.  Emotionally – a little numb, a little worried about who’s going to be upset because they found thru social network and not a personal call.  To you, I apologize.  I hope you forgive me.

What are my thoughts?  Not sure yet. 

What next?  I’ll know more after Wednesdays appointment.

What I do know….my mom and friend arrive in the morning to be with me, friends showed up on my doorstep tonight with dinner and a shoulder to lean on.  I am blessed to have friends and family that have allowed their life to be interrupted to be with me.  Our Lord has provided and is caring for me beyond my imagination.

So for all of you willing to follow me on this journey stay tuned as I plan to journal thru this.

Cancer has picked the wrong chick!!!

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “A day changes your life

  1. Praying fgr you friend. Thanks for sharing this evening. Stay strong, He is faithful!

  2. Nicole Knox

    Yes, cancer has most *definitely* picked the wrong chick!! I am praying that you will be overwhelmed with prayer, love, encouragement and laughter and for the record, I am and will continue to claim God’s COMPLETE healing on your behalf. As for me … just name it and I’m in. Whatever you need, where ever. Tears or laughter, prayers or anguish – I’m in. You are loved, you are God’s, He is in control.

  3. Keith Duncan

    Jennifer,

    Deanne and I will follow your blogging during this process. Additionally, we will be praying for you. I know God has great things in store for you as you learn so much about him and yourself through this journey.

  4. Kelly Morgan

    Jenn,
    I will be following you on your blog and wish desperatly that I could be there with you!!! You are in my thoughts and prayers and I love you. I talked with my mom this morning and she is sending you her love as well. Please let me know what if anything I can do!!! You are strong and I truely believe that cancer did pick the wrong chick!!!
    With love,
    Kelly

  5. Cayce Ashby

    Jennifer: There is so much that I want to say, for another converstaion maybe. The summary is this. My mother had breast cancer when I was in high school. She was given 3 months to live. We stood on the promises of God – that Jesus died not only for our sins but also for our illnesses – believing fully that through the strips on his back – we are healed. The Lord completely healed my mom and she has now been cancer free for 12 years! We give Him all the praise!

    Jen, I believe this promise is for you as well and I will be praying for your complete healing! I will be faithful in prayer for you – please let me know if there is anything I can do…anything at all.

    Love you.
    Cayce

  6. Thanks for sharing your story. You have my prayers, you have my friendship, and whatever else you need from me. Love, TiNA

  7. Tausha Esparza

    Praying God’s healing over you my friend. Thank you for sharing this time in your life with all of us! It’s so awesome to see how many people love you…not a surprise. 😉 Remember He is right there beside you every step of the way.

    We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. 2 Cor 4:8-9

  8. Sarah Perrin

    Chris, Carlene, Delaney and I are wraping you in silky PJs today!

    Jennifer I love you so much and i am praying that all will come out well!

    Sarah

  9. Lindsey

    Hello my friend. Jen you are a strong woman who is strong in her faith. Our God is bigger than cancer, of all people you know that. My prayer is for you to stay strong in your faith and how you deal with this can and will be a testimony to others. You maybe the only Jesus somebody sees. What a testimony to other women. I hope you are comforted to know because of facebook….you have families praying for you all over the country. Stay strong and just know me and my family are on our knees for you and your family. Love you lady! Sending many prayers your way!

  10. Amy

    Jennifer – I am praying for you! Thank you for allowing us to join your journey and to pray for you.

  11. Karen

    Praying for sure!!! I will be checking your blog daily. As you know there is SOOOOO much power in prayer. Love ya and cant wait to see what God has for you in this season of your life.

  12. Janna

    Jenn,

    Sandi called me today to fill me in on your whirlwind last 48 hours. I love you and am praying the LORD’s protection on you and for you to feel HIS total peace throughout this time. I am praying for your time today with the surgeon. If you need anything, please call or email me. I am planning to come with Sandi when we hear about the surgery. I love you so much and yes, it has picked the wrong chick to pick on!!!

    Janna

  13. Jennifer,
    I am praying for you for sure. We are here to support you with whatever you need. Please know that we have an army (not huge but exceptional!) ready to walk along-side of you. I will stay connected via your website…but please know I am a phone call away- 940-368-4749

  14. Stacy

    Jenn – I am praying for you. Please let me know if there is anything that I can do for you after your mom leaves.

    Love
    stacy

  15. Jan Greggo

    Oh my girlfriend, I’m praying for you wondering what is going on tonight. Love you love you, and know that God can take your life back to normal right now with just a thought.

  16. Susan Campbell Eaton

    I will be praying for you and with you every step. I will be following your blog to stay up to date. Love you girl!

    Joyfully,
    Susan

  17. Laura Myers

    My Friend, I am so sad to hear this news, but KNOW that you are strong physically and in your walk with our Heavenly Father!! Hold strong to what you know is true . . . He is with you every step of this journey. I am too!! I will be praying for you daily. I love love love how you ended this last entry!!

    Love you!!! Laura

  18. Jen – praying for you. I’ll be following along, and keeping updated. Hugs!

    Love,
    Michelle

  19. Christy Mac

    Jennifer,
    As I’ve processed the news tonight I’ve remembered your rejoicing earlier this year about God’s love and provision. I am praying that He will reveal Himself similarly and meet you in mighty ways over the coming days, weeks, and months.

    I’d leave tomorrow to drive down but with your Mom there I will wait. Know I will be there in a moment…or maybe a minimum of 7 hours!:-)

    Love you!
    Christy

  20. Jennifer,
    I’m so sorry that this has come upon on you. I pray that this will just disappear and you will be healed, and as we know that this could happen if we truly Believe.
    Just know that you are one of God’s Children, and he will be with you all the way.
    I pray for Peace for you, and your Parents.
    Just know that at The Springs, that you have a lot of people that love you and will be praying for you.

    I love you Jennifer.
    Janie Niswonger

  21. Monica

    Jennifer,

    Just want you to know that you are in my thoughts and prayers.

  22. Ken

    Hey Jennifer,

    Know that I am praying for you Friend. Thanks for your honest (and humorous at times) approach to dealing with this. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

    Ken

  23. Dallas Palmeri

    Jennifer,
    I love your last line! Awesome attitude. I will pray for you. Dallas

  24. curry

    Jenn…I just got word about your news. I am standing with you and the others in prayer and trusting Him to be your Comforter, to be your Healer. If there’s anything I can do to be helpful or encouraging…just ask. So thankful you have family and friends surrounding you. LOVE IT that you are standing strong and using this as an opportunity to bring Him Glory!!! Yes, Cancer – you’ve messed with the WRONG chick!!!

    so much love.
    curry

  25. Jennifer –

    Praying for you!!!!!!!!!!!! Much, much love. My parents are here in Memphis with us this weekend, and want you to know how much they love you and are praying for you also.

  26. Chris Risen

    Jennifer,

    My heart goes out to you. I realized last Friday, as we sat in Mr. Poon’s class, that you are a very special person. You’re joy and the expression of it is contagious! Yes, cancer, has picked the wrong chick! But praise the Lord that He has chosen you to show His glory! The joy of the Lord will continue to be your strength. Nehemiah 8:10

    In Christ, my sister,
    Chris Risen

  27. Diane

    Hey Sistah,
    You know that you are in my prayers. I will be one of the people that will pray you through this. You are right, cancer did pick the wrong person. Your faith will guide you through and you have a ton of support. Love ya girl.
    God Bless,
    Di

  28. Mardee Fried

    Dear Jenn,

    You are truly an inspiration! Please know that I will keep you lifted up in prayer as this too shall pass… Thanks be to the Lord God Almighty that He is your strength and strong tower, through Him all things are possible. I am very proud of you for your determination and tenacity. You are a strong woman of God and have victory in all things.

    God Bless you and keep you,

    Mardee

  29. Donna

    Jenn,

    Please know I am praying for you and I’m here if you need anything, YOU are a blessing and an inspiration! I miss seeing you and hope to see you soon.

    Love you,
    Donna

    Giving it to God
    Gods Word tells us in Psalm 62:8 to “trust in Him at all times… Pour out your hearts to Him, For God is our refuge.”

  30. Mardee Fried

    Dear Heavenly Father,

    I ask for your peace to envelope Jennifer this day and everyday. I ask that you continue to hold her hand as you walk with her through this journey. Thank you for always being with her and giving your abundant love to her and her friends and family. Lord thank you for your divine healing in Jennifer’s body, mind and soul. We give you praise that you are doing a wonderful work in her. In Jesus Name, Amen!

  31. Nancy Hopkins Robey

    Hey Jennifer
    Will be keeping up with you via this blog. Praying for you. Love Ya, Nancy

Leave a Reply

